Quick Fix – Changing the Battery on a Nike Triax Watch

The battery on my Nike Triax watch (WR0127-004) died a few months ago. I finally got around to fiddling with it, and was met with an unexpected lack of information online regarding the replacement procedure. Looking the watch over, it seemed fairly straightforward, just remove the four screws on the backplate and replace the battery.

It turns out that the molded wristband of the watch interferes with the removal of the backplate. I searched around for tips on removing the band to no avail. The best info I could find indicated that the bands were non removable. This may not be true, but I sure couldn’t figure out a way to get them off!

I ended up just cutting a bit of one end of the wristband away, allowing the backplate to be removed.

With one wristband trimmed I was able to pry the backplate out from under the remaining tab on the other side. At this point, it was a simple task to change the battery. This watch uses a common CR2032 3V Lithium battery.

Before reassembling the watch, I gave the sealing features a good cleaning, removing the bits of grime that had built up over the years. A good clean seal is critical to “waterproofness”. I haven’t tested the watch in water yet, but I’m hopeful I didn’t mess anything up.

I wouldn’t have expected there’d be any value in writing up this process, but after the lack of information turned up during my search, I figured I’d share my experience. Hopefully it’s helpful!

